County Profiles - Flood Maps Not Modernized

*Additional Counties being added as time permits...

These are counties in Oregon whose FEMA floodplain maps have NOT been modernized and are still in paper format. Digital representations here are for reference only, and are NOT to be used for official purposes. The digital data is in two different formats representing a difference in quality:

-Q3 Flood Data is a digital representation of certain features, including the SFHA, of FEMA's Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM). This data was developed by FEMA by scanning the existing FIRM hardcopy and vectorizing a thematic overlay of flood risks. The Q3 data are designed to provide guidance and a general proximity of the location of the SFHA, and cannot be used to determine absolute delineation of flood risk boundaries. Counties that have not been modernized and are represented by Q3 data are Hood River, Wasco, Gilliam, Sherman, Wallow, Baker, Wheeler, Jefferson, and Wallowa.

-Digitized Flood Data was created by DAS GEO by digitizing the SFHA of the FIRM, using orthophotos as control. This data, like the Q3, cannot be used to determine the absolute delineation of flood boundaries and does not replace the paper FIRM. However, it is greatly improved in spatial accuracy and consistency over the Q3 product. Counties represented by digitized data are Union, Grant, Baker, Malheur, Harney, Lake, and Klamath.


Contact for Oregon Risk MAP

The Department of Land Conservation and Development is the lead on the Oregon Risk MAP project. To reach the program coordinator contact:

Dave Lentzner
635 Capitol St. NE, Suite 150
Salem, OR 97301-2540

Phone: 503-934-0010