County Profiles - Modernized Flood Maps/Interactive Maps

FEMA's 5-year Map Moderniztion Program put 17 county (and the City of Portland) floodplain maps into digital format.  Lane and Marion Counties preceeded Map Mod, Crook County will become effective Feb. 2, 2012,  and Tillamook and Washington Counties have yet to be released in their final format.  While current digital mapping is countywide, future floodplain mapping projects will be watershed based.

Flood hazard areas identified on the following county pages are identified as the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). SFHA is defined as the area that will be inundated by the flood event having a 1-percent chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. The 1-percent annual chance flood is also referred to as the base flood or 100-year flood. The SFHA is the area where the NFIP's floodplain management regulations must be enforced and the area where the mandatory purchase of flood insurance applies.

It is important to note that property located outside the SFHA may still be subject to severe flooding. FEMA reports that 25% to 30% of all flood insurance claims are from owners of property located in low to moderate-risk areas located outside of the SFHA.


Contact for Oregon Risk MAP

The Department of Land Conservation and Development is the lead on the Oregon Risk MAP project. To reach the program coordinator contact:

Dave Lentzner
635 Capitol St. NE, Suite 150
Salem, OR 97301-2540

Phone: 503-934-0010